DemDaily: Tonight’s Battle for the Ballot & The Count!

April 14, 2016

New York is the setting for tonight's battle for the ballot, with dueling events hosted by CNN and MSNBC.

Both broadcasts are a lead-up to NewYork's April 19th primaries, where a critical 247 Democratic and 95 Republican delegates are at stake.

CNN & NY1 will host Democratic candidates Bernie Sanders and Hillary Clinton in Brooklyn for their 9th debate. Much has happened in the month since their last match up in Miami. While HRC still has a sizable lead in delegates, Sanders has won 7 out of the last 8 primary contests.

TONIGHT

CNN Democratic Primary Debate

When: Thursday, April 14th
Time:
9:00pm ET (8pm CT, 7pm MT, 6pm PT)
Where:
Brooklyn, New York. Duggal Greenhouse
Sponsors: CNN, NY1
Moderators:
Wolf Blitzer
Candidates:
Hillary Clinton & Bernie Sanders
AiredOn/Streaming: CNN.com

Not to be outdone, MSNBC is hosting back-to-back townhalls with Republicans Ted Cruz and John Kasich.

Donald Trump, who is noticeably absent from the line-up, has skipped the major networks since his controversial comments that women who have abortions should suffer "some form of punishment" during MSNBC's last town hall.

TONIGHT

MSNBC Republican Town Halls

When: Thursday, April 14th
Time: 7:00pm ET (6pm CT, 5pm MT, 4pm PT)
Where: Jericho, New York (Long Island)
Sponsor: MSNBC
Moderator:
Chris Matthews
Candidate:
John Kasich Town hall
Aired On/Streaming: msnbc.com  (Note: Recorded earlier)
When: Thursday, April 14th
Time:  8:00pm ET (7pm CT, 6pm MT, 5pm PT)
Where: Buffalo, New York. Univ of Buffalo, Katharine Cornell Theatre
Sponsor: MSNBC
Moderator: Chuck Todd
Candidate: Ted Cruz Town Hall
AiredOn/Streaming: msnbc.com  (Note: Recorded at 11:00am ET)

The Current Count!

Democrats 

Clinton:  1,790 delegates (1,309 Pledged/481 Super)

Sanders:  1,134 (1,095 Pledged/38 Super)

To Clinch Nomination: 2,383

Republicans

Trump:      758

Cruz:      544

Kasich:   144

To Clinch Nomination: 1,237

 

DemList
Connecting you to The Party
Connecting you to Each Other
Kimberly Scott
Publisher
DemList is a free daily political newsletter, national calendar and resource for Democratic supporters, the party and allies. Help us keep you informed by making a contribution today!

 

Source: TheGreenPapers

Related posts

DemDaily:  Next Up!

DemDaily: Next Up!

November 9, 2017 On the heels of Tuesday’s Democratic wave, revelations about a candidate in the Alabama Senate Special Election reminds us – that election is just one month away. The...

Resistance Summer Weekend

Resistance Summer Weekend

July 13, 2017 This weekend the Democratic National Committee (DNC) kicks off another Day of Action around Resistance Summer, the Party’s campaign to unite Americans in the name of resistance...

Posted
DemDaily: Eclipsing the Week

DemDaily: Eclipsing the Week

August 23, 2017 DemList headed down south to see the Total Eclipse of the Sun. If you have found DemList to be helpful – through the informative Daily political column, the calendar, or if...

In Defense of the Disabled

In Defense of the Disabled

July 27, 2017 The civil rights movement has had many faces throughout history, but among the lesser known soldiers are Americans with disabilities. It was not until 1990 that the...

Posted