SCOTUS Scalia Today, Debate Tonight

As the final six Republican candidates prepare for tonight's debate, the country is reeling from today's news of the death of Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia.
The death of the conservative justice, who was personally well-respected by colleagues and pols of all stripes, leaves a vacancy less than nine months before the Presidential election -- and at a critical point in the cases currently before the US Supreme Court.
While this provides President Obama the opportunity to nominate a progressive replacement, it is unlikely the Republican majority in the US Senate - which must approve the nominee - will let that happen before the election.
This adds yet another dimension to the already critical outcome of the November Presidential.  In the interim, you can count on it impacting tonight's Republican debate.
TONIGHT'S DEBATE DETAILS  
When:

Time:
Where:
 
Hosts:
Moderators:
Live Stream:
Saturday, February 13, 2016
9:00pm Eastern (8pm CT, 7pm MT, 6pm PT)
Greenville, South Carolina
The Peace Center
CBS News
John Dickerson, Major Garrett & Kimberley Strassel
CBS News Live
 February 25th:  Republicans in
Houston, Texas (CNN/Telemundo)
March 6th: Democrats in Flint, Michigan (CNN)
Next Primary: February 20th
Nevada Democratic Caucus
Republican South Carolina Primary
*Dates reflect today's changes in debate schedule.
DemList
Connecting you to The Party
Connecting you to Each Other
Kimberly Scott
Publisher

Related posts

DemDaily: The Status of Hate

DemDaily: The Status of Hate

March 18, 2019 On Friday, March 16th, a self-proclaimed white supremacist launched an assault on two mosques in Christchurch, New Zealand, killing 50 people and wounding 50 others. It was the...

DemDaily: The Royal Treatment

DemDaily: The Royal Treatment

June 6, 2019 Trump’s visit to the United Kingdom this week proved another embarrassment for the United States on the global stage, though a testament to the extreme diplomacy of Royal...

Posted
DemDaily: Eclipsing the Week

DemDaily: Eclipsing the Week

August 23, 2017 DemList headed down south to see the Total Eclipse of the Sun. If you have found DemList to be helpful – through the informative Daily political column, the calendar, or if...